Track Listing

  1. 29 Maple Ave
  2. Frankenstein Controls
  3. Tractor Beam From The Heart
  4. Ditch Party
  5. Magnetic Repulsion
  6. Deathman Does Exist
  7. In A Dark Dark Cave
  8. Sacrifice For Nothing
  9. Slaughter Of The Worthy
  10. Excoriated
  11. Dearth Of Anything Resembling Joy

Released 1990

Superauthority – “Frankenstein Controls” (1990)

Founder of the “Wantagh Bootgaze” branch of early 90’s acid-wave, Superauthority’s Brandt Tabin credits much of his sound to the dark peculiarities of his early life. Orphaned as an infant, Brandt was begrudgingly taken in by his grandfather-cum-amateur inventor Dr. Maximillian Tabin, to live in his decaying house-laboratory in Hempstead, NY. Brandt peeked through doorways as the elder Tabin, descending into paranoid madness, researched and developed far-fetched but extremely lethal weaponry including “remote-activated deadly-to-the-touch tarantula spiders,” a supposed “brain-thoughts broadcasting radio implant” and the poisoned “Tabin Needle.”

Exposed to the world by the investigative journalism of a former experiment subject, Tabin was arrested and his inventions destroyed, hastening his mental deterioration and leading to his eventual suicide – which Brandt not only witnessed but unknowingly took part in and famously dramatized in his 1994 experimental film/album You Have Never Seen This Much Blood.

More by this artist